Main Menu

Crisis Line: 1-866-399-6264

×

NAMI Homefront

NAMI Homefront is a free, 6-session educational program for families, caregivers and friends of military service members and veterans with mental health conditions.

Based on the nationally recognized NAMI Family-to-Family program, NAMI Homefront is designed to address the unique needs of family, caregivers and friends of those who have served or are currently serving our country. The program is taught by trained family members of service members/veterans with mental health conditions.

What You’ll Gain

Recovery is a journey and there is hope for all people affected by mental health conditions. This in-person experience provides the opportunity for mutual support and shared positive impact. You will experience compassion and reinforcement from people who relate to your experiences. Through your participation, you have the opportunity to help others grow.

NAMI Homefront teaches you how to:

  • Learn to care for yourself, including managing your stress
  • Support your family member with compassion
  • Identify and access federal, state and local services
  • Stay informed on the latest research and information on mental health, including posttraumatic stress disorder, traumatic brain injury, anxiety, depression and substance use
  • Understand current treatments and evidence-based therapies
  • Navigate the challenges and impact of mental health conditions on the entire family
  • Manage a crisis, solve problems and communicate effectively

What People are Saying

"This training has been really helpful for me to process much of my own emotions. I am at a point now that being able to stop and look back at exactly how far we've come and being reminded of the painful past but positive changes was very empowering. Sometimes when we get stuck in the routine of moving on we lose sight of how far we've come."

"I realized I saw signs and symptoms of PTSD but did not know how to handle my loved one - I know better how to handle situations."

“You realize that he will never be the same having been through war. I learned how to treat him more as an adult than as a hurt child.”Mother of a Veteran after graduating from a NAMI Family-to-Family class held at a VA clinic

“We are still friends with everyone that was in the class. There’s always and open ear and an open heart and a shoulder to cry on if you need it.” Father of a Veteran after graduating from a NAMI Family-to-Family class held at a VA hospital

Sign Up for a Class

NAMI Homefront is offered online! We understand that attending an in-person class can be difficult for busy individuals and families. We now offer NAMI Homefront Online. Online classes meet weekly in a virtual classroom, so participants experience the same level of interaction and learning as traditional in-person classes.

Registration for NAMI Homefront Online Quarter 4 Classes is now open!

Note: You may register for any of the below classes that fit your schedule. You are not limited to your own time zone.

Eastern Evening: October 7 – November 11
Wednesdays, 6:30 – 8:30 pm ET
 (5:30pm CT, 4:30pm MT, 3:30pm PT)

Eastern Daytime: October 6 – November 10
Tuesdays, 10:00 am – 12:00 pm ET
(9:00am CT, 8:00am MT, 7:00am PT)

Pacific Evening: October 5 – November 9
Mondays, 6:30pm – 8:30 pm PT
(7:30pm MT, 8:30 pm CT, 9:30 pm ET)

Central Evening: October 6 – November 10
Tuesdays, 6:30 – 8:30 pm CT
(5:30pm MT, 4:30pm PT, 7:30pm ET)

Jump To:

From Next Door To Across Your Region

Become a Member

Join NAMI Bucks County and join a movement to inspire better lives for NAMI Bucks Countyns who are affected by mental illness. With membership, you’ll receive newsletters and updates on mental health news, you’ll be able to engage in discussion groups, and you’ll have the opportunity to support others who are affected by mental illness financially and emotionally.

Get Involved

If you’re not ready to become a member but still would like to support NAMI Bucks County, we welcome and appreciate donations of any value. You'll be supporting others who are affected by mental illness financially and emotionally.

Get In Touch

The families and members of NAMI Bucks County are here to help! We offer understanding to anyone concerned about mental illnesses and the treatment of mental illness. There’s a community here for you, and we’re here to help you however you need it. You will be so very glad that you did!